Fort George is situated on the hills to the North of St. James overlooking the Gulf of Paria.
Formerly known as La Vigie, was part of a complex of fortifications.
The fort, which was part of a complex of fortifications, is the best destination for one of the most spectacular views of Port of Spain and the sea.
The area is outfitted with tables and cheers so visitors can sit and enjoy the view while having lunch or otherwise.
The view is most scenic and a great place for taking those spectacle photos.
The building of which began construction in 1804 under the direction of the then British Governor, Brigadier-General Sir Thomas Hislop.
In addition to the beautiful vista at this well-preserved structure one can see the original cannons, dungeons, artefacts of the day and a signal station which was established in 1802 and designed by Prince Kofi Nti, son of King Kofi Calclai of Ashanti, West Africa.
The fortifications consisted of sea defenses and a series of supporting batteries: the York, Princess Charlotte, Abercromby and Cambridge on the lower slopes and the Cumberland to the north above the Fort.
Considered impregnable, it was the major defensive position in the island, but never to experience military action.
In times of rumours of the war, merchants of Port of Spain would store their records and valuables at the fort.
Fort George ceased to be a military establishment in 1846. A signal station was established there and continued operation until November 1964.
This signal station, built about 1883, was designed by Prince Kofi Nti, son of King Kofi Calcali of Ashantee, West Africa. He arrived in Trinidad on 1 July 1881, having become a ward of the British government after a war against the Ashantees in 1872.
A major restoration of the building took place in 1965, three years after Trinidad gained its independence.